Databases
Databases provide access to journal articles from a wide range of sources, linked to full text where available.
Click the box to access.
NICE/HEE provide access to 9 key databases as described below. All these databases can be accessed through the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub. To see full links to resources, log in using your OpenAthens account. If you have not registered for OpenAthens then follow this link to create an account.
For introductory course on how to search please click on the Literature Search Online Course in the Quick Links box.
Please contact us if you would like help using the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub or for advanced searching using the native interfaces and databases below.
You can reach us by email: library@royalberkshire.nhs.uk or telephone: 0118 322 7849.
●AMED (Allied & Complementary Medicine)
Covers complementary medicine, palliative care and allied health professions.
●BNI (British Nursing Index)
Covers all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare.
●CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literatures)
Covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines.
●EMBASE
Covers pharmacology, pharmaceutics, drug research, toxicology and more.
●EMCARE
Covers nursing and allied health disciplines.
●HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium)
Covers health policy, management & administration, quality and safety etc.
●MEDLINE
Covers a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services.
●PUBMED
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
●PsycINFO
Covers psychology and related disciplines.